Health & Fitness ~ Peaches & Cream Overnight Oats

Happy Sunday all you Beautiful people!

And a very happy Fathers Day to my Daddy, the best dad in the world 🙂

My Sundays tend to consist of getting up around 10am and going to my local supermarket to do a weekly shop. Then when I get home I try to prepare at least breakfast/lunch/dinner for the next day.
In general, I like to double my dinner recipe so I have some to take to work for my lunch. I try to eat only 1 – 2 servings of ‘carbs’ (Oats, rice, pasta, bread, potatoes) per day, so I’ll either have them with breakfast & lunch, Lunch & dinner or breakfast & dinner!

I thought I’d include my typical shopping list this week, to give you an idea of what I’ll be eating for the next 3-5 days. I’m not sure if this really interests people, but personally I’m a very nosey person and LOVE to know what people buy!

Meat;-
Lean Chicken
Lean minced beef (for spaghetti bolognese, meatballs, home made burgers)

Fruit & Veg
Peaches
Blackberries
Blueberries
Mangos x 2
Bananas
Nectarines
Red Pepper
Green Pepper
Yellow Pepper
Onion
Garlic
Cucumber
Cherry tomatoes.

Pantry items
Herbs/Spices
Tinned tomatos
Chopped hazelnuts
Chocolate chips
Diet energy drinks (can’t live without!)

Peaches & Cream Overnight Oats

Image is from http://www.honeyedhome.com

Overnight oats are a delicious, easy to make breakfast that takes about 10 minutes the night before to prepare. I personally hate eating first thing in the morning, so I bring these to work with me and have them at 9am. As I have to get up at 6am to be in work for 9, I never really have time to make breakfast first thing anyways, so these are great to grab out of the fridge on my way out the door!

This recipe serves one. I haven’t put exact measurements down as I usually just throw things in together and hope for the best!

Ingredients
Rolled oats
Skimmed milk
Fat free peach & nectarine yogurt
1 Chopped peach
1 chopped nectarine
Small handful of blueberries
Small handful of blackberries
Small handful of chopped hazelnuts.

  • Method!
    Prepare your rolled oats, in your air tight container (i.e mason jar, lunchbox etc.) as per instructions on the packet.
  • Once the milk and oats are mixed, add in the peach yogurt.
  • Add in all of the fruit and stir until they’re evenly distributed throughout the mixture.
  • Seal the container and store in the fridge for at least 3 hours. I made mine at 1pm today and i’ll be eating them around 9 am tomorrow!
  • I also prepared the dry ingredients for Tuesdays overnight oats. Hazelnuts & oats are measured out in their container, fruit is ready to go. All I’ll need to do on monday night is add the milk, yogurt and fruit and pop it in the fridge!

This particular recipe smelled so good, it was actually difficult not to eat it there and then!

Have you tried overnight oats? What’s your favourite recipe? I think I’ll be trying banoffee (caramel, banana) next! I have a tonne of sugar free, low calorie flavoured syrups that I bought for my coffee addiction, but I had a thought just now that they could be delicious in oats!

XOXO Amy

3 thoughts on “Health & Fitness ~ Peaches & Cream Overnight Oats

    1. If I’m honest, I don’t technically know what it means but where you get porridge oats, you’ll see some of them say rolled oats! I usually just use instant but I’ve been told rolled work better! Flahavens do them 😊 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

